FamilySearch is taking steps to cancel the accounts of individuals that have signed up to do indexing, but have been inactive for some time. This includes those who signed up and then never did any indexing as well as those that have not done any indexing for some time. These individuals recently received an e-mail warning them that if they didn't do anything prior to 30-June-2008, their accounts would be deleted.
Here is the full text of the email:
We noticed that a FamilySearch Indexing account associated with this e-mail address has been inactive for at least nine months, or was created over three months ago and has never been used. We invite you to return to the FamilySearch Indexing Web site and try indexing again. Simply go to www.familysearchindexing.org and click the Start Indexing button.
If you do not remember your username and password, click here to have it sent to your e-mail address. You may leave the username blank if you do not remember it. If you still cannot log in, please send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org and include your full name. We will send your username and a new password as soon as possible.
If you no longer wish to participate in FamilySearch Indexing, you do not need to do anything. This account will be deleted on June 30, 2008, unless you log in before that date.
If your account is deleted and you decide to start indexing again at a later date, you may register as a new volunteer on the FamilySearch Indexing Web site, www.familysearchindexing.org.
The FamilySearch Indexing Team